Are you drinking enough Water?

I was flicking through a magazine, when I spotted a beauty advertisement which claimed to plump up your cells and promote a youthful appearance. Wow, I thought, what a claim! Surely they must be talking about water?

For proper cellular formation to occur, our bodies rely on adequate hydration from water. When the body has enough water, it will then naturally moisturise the skin, giving it a healthy, glowing, complexion.

Not only does too little water lead to lacklustre skin but it can also have the following adverse side effects; dehydration, fatigue, hunger, sugar cravings, headaches and confusion.

As our bodies are made up of 75% water. Water is essential to our survival. A person can live up to a month without food, but only a few days without water.

How much water do I need to drink? Depends on the individual; climate; age; activity; diet and health concerns. However, the recommended intake is to try to maintain nine glasses per day.

Although coffee, tea, soda and alcohol are liquids, they are dehydrating to the body. Since realising my water habits had dwindled during winter, I have tried to put in place a few simple swaps to make sure I am keeping up my hydration.

I have changed my morning cup of tea routine, to two mugs of hot water and freshly squeezed lemon juice. I keep a glass beside the sink, which I find reminds me to drink more while I am doing jobs in the kitchen, and I keep a bottle of water in the car, which comes in handy for thirsty children.

So this week, if you change one thing, please try to drink more water.

Leave a Reply

