Gratitude

I have found lately that keeping a gratitude diary has helped keep me grounded and thankful for everything that I have. So lately I have been trying my gratitude experiment on my kids at the dinner table (and they don’t even realise what I am doing). I used to ask my children a question like this, “how was your day kids” and I used to get various replies; “terrible,” “ok,” “alright,” “great.” So now I ask, “what was the BEST part of your day”? and they think about their answer and are quiet excited to share. I have found that it has changed the whole environment around, and it is helping to cultivate happiness in my children and teach them to look for the good in life! …Give it a go and let me know if it helps!

One thought on “Gratitude

  1. Sarah Barton

    We too, at the dinner table, ask each child,”What was the best part of your day?” and also “What is something you are thankful for today?” It makes them stop and acknowledge and appreciate the little things. They then ask us parents the same question. Sometimes it is hard to find an answer, but even after a less than great day, you can always find a special moment to be thankful for. I try hard to answer it, because i love the saying “Not every day is good, but there is good in every day.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

